Belfast Open 2006
Sat Nov 26th, Organiser: Eoin Adams
Categories: Junior 3, Youth 4, Senior 6, Veteran 2, Venue: Morton Community Centre
Website | Results | Photos

Kenny Beggs Beats John Moore in Final
Kenny Beggs won the first Northern Ireland National Open of the season with a 1-0 victory over Dublin's John Moore in the final. The decisive goal was scored in the first minute, which spurred John to play an attacking game and he was unlucky not to equalise on a number of occasions. Kenny was content to defend his lead but still looked dangerous on the break, being denied several opportunities by the woodwork and John's keeper.

Open Final: John Moore 0-1 Kenny Beggs

There were 14 players in the Open, split into four groups. The first 3 groups went according to seeding but Group 4 was less predictable, with Stuart Mcilroy taking top spot after coming from behind to beat No.4 seed, Barry Spence 2-1 in the group decider. Barry did qualify in 2nd place, but faced a difficult quarter-final match against Northern Ireland Champion & No.2 seed, Davy Clegg. Stuart's victory paired him with Group 2 runner-up, Eoin Adams, who just qualified thanks to a last minute goal against the rapidly improving Andrew Morrison who had drawn earlier with Clegg. Eoin's winner was accompanied by a triumphant 'MERFOX' echoing around the hall, reflecting his relief and his association with Yorkshire Phoenix Club (whose logo is the Merfox). Kenny and John won their groups with maximum points, with Nicky Moore and Alistair Morrison going through as group runners-up.

In the quarter-finals, there were 2-0 victories for Clegg v Spence, John Moore v Nicky Moore and Mcilroy v Adams, while Beggs beat Alistair Morrison 3-1.

The semi-finals were both decided on shots after two 0-0 draws during normal play. Kenny scored the only goal of his shoot-out with Stuart Mcilroy, while John required a sudden-death winner in his 2-1 shoot-out victory over Davy Clegg.

Davy got some consolation by beating Alistair Morrison in the Veteran Final. Andrew Morrison beat his brother, Peter, 2-1 in the U-19 Final and also won the Plate on shots, following a 1-1 draw with Jim McCullough.

It was great to have two newcomers (Alan Daragh & David Knox) taking part, as well as Judith Morrison, the only junior present, who played in the Open and U-19s.

The Morton Community Centre proved to be an excellent venue and will be used again in the future - a good find by tournament organiser, Eoin Adams.


1986 Davy Clegg
1987 Neil Hanna
1992 Chris Harrison
1993 Trevor Cummings
2003 Kenny Beggs
2006 Kenny Beggs

2006 Davy Clegg

Under 19
2006 Andrew Morrison

Under 15
1986 Eoin Adams
1987 Eoin Adams
1992 David Norrington
1993 David Norrington
2006 Judith Morrison